2018 Winston P. Wilson Machine Gun Championship kicks off

Thirty-two National Guard members representing 11 states are participating in the 2018 Machine Gun Winston P. Wilson Championship. State teams represented include Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Maine, Michigan, North Dakota, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Vermont. The match consists of 13 courses of fire and three weapons systems over five days.

The Winston P. Wilson Championship is a national level competitive marksmanship combat match conducted by the National Guard Marksmanship Training Center. It is an annual event to promote combat marksmanship and training. The Winston P. Wilson Championship consist of the small arms, sniper, and machine gun. In September 1971, the MTU established the first ever Winston P. Wilson matches at Camp Robinson, Arkansas as the National Guard’s premier competitive event.

To see photos from day one, visit our Flickr page: 2018 WPW Machine Gun Championship Day One

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s